Strength

We, she and I, weren’t even suppose to talk today
But it happened any way
She said every thing I needed to hear
Clearly, the Almighty whispered in her ear
Strength….can you see it in her eyes?
The words she spoke
Gave me hope
I listened and understood
I listened and understood because she told me she knew the good in me
And that the reality of everything happening to me would eventually become my testimony
A breakthrough is upon you…
The words she spoke to me, I’ve heard them before…
But for some reason today they just meant much more, my knees hit the floor
Imploring God to strengthen the me within…
to save me….
I know he hears it, but my spirit was weary
Just hearing everything she said, speaking to the weakest part of me
Led to me writing this piece, giving me perfect peace I needed
I listened and I understood
Evaluating all the debilitating situations I’ve been facing
Painstakingly making the same mistakes

To read more of “Strength” and the rest of our JUNE/JULY issue of “Running On…” magazine today,  click HERE!!!

About Gwenae Mac (Brown Girl Poetess)

Edited in Lumia Selfie
Edited in Lumia Selfie

Gwenae Mac is currently an educator in the Houston, Texas area. Writing has been a passion of hers since she was a child. She has received several distinctions in writing and is currently working on material for her first book. Gwenae enjoys sharing her work on her Facebook Fan Page, Brown Girl Poetess. More of her work can be viewed by visiting Facebook.

Leave a Reply

