Tea Time with Tish

Your Health is Biblical

By Leticia A. Mathis, MPA

My entire family has passed away from something other than natural causes. My mother, step-father and biological father passed away from cancer in their eighties. My oldest sister passed away from complications of Lupus at 55. My youngest sister was born with a hole in her heart and died at the age of three. My grandmother passed away from complications of Alzheimer’s (at that time they called it dementia) at the age of 65 and my grandfather had a heart attack at the young age of 55.

In October 2015, three months after my mom passed away I realized that my health was deteriorating. I had been suffering for several years from two slipped discs in my back, bursitis in both hips, arthritis in my knees, acid reflux, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), gluten and diary sensitivities, allergies, recurrent sinus infections and bronchitis, and now migraines. I had spinal blocks, cortisone shots, was on pain medication, muscle relaxants, Prevacid, Ibuprofen, medicine to regulate my bowels, and now they were adding three additional medications for migraines and the doctor tells me that I am overweight…sigh.

Approaching the half century mark; I knew something had to change!

What does the Bible Say about Health
When I started my business, The Healthy Dreamer, it was based upon a scripture that God gave me and a vision He showed me. John 10:10, many of us have heard it but God broke it down for me like this; ‘The enemy comes to ROB (us of our health), KILL (our dreams of health and wealth), and DESTROY (our bodies and bank accounts). I came so everyone would have LIFE and have it FULLY’!

My purpose was birthed out of my pain. God sent ME to help the body of Christ to regain their health so that THEY may FULFILL the purpose for which God created them!

To read more of “Tea Time with Tish” and the rest of our MAY/JUNE issue of “Running On…” magazine today,  click HERE!!!

About Leticia A. Mathis, MPA

tishLeticia Mathis is a former resident of Cleveland Heights, Ohio. While holding down a full-time job and being a single parent, Leticia managed to obtain her Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration/Healthcare Management and her Master’s Degree in Public Administration. She has held several leadership roles within local and state public health, her passion for helping people,led her to take a leap of faith, to walk into her destiny as she started her own business, The Healthy Dreamer, partnering with Total Life Changes, an organic and herbal health and wellness company. Leticia currently lives in Douglas County, Georgia with two of her three daughters.

Leave a Reply

