There’s Nothing Like a Real Father: A Letter to My Dad

A Letter to My Dad

Most men assume that girls need their mother. To some degree that is true but, dad where are you? I really can’t know what boys I should or shouldn’t like or date because you are not around. What forces you to not be in my life?

I’m grateful for my step-dad, but don’t you at least want to see me grow up? Don’t you at least want to attend at least one of my games? The name that so many have given you is “deadbeat”. A deadbeat is a name that so many give to their parents when they don’t take care of their children. I refuse to call you a deadbeat; I will just assume that you are dead. I have to assume you are dead because surely no real parent would want to miss the majority of their child’s life  on purpose. No, not one! I know in the past you have been able to blame my mom for not answering her telephone, but know that I’m older and I’m able to answer calls and make phone calls now. Please, tell me what’s your excuse now dad?

Maybe I should re-introduce myself to you. Hello, my name is Zee and I’m your only daughter and I would like to meet you. I would like for you to be in my life again, as a dad. Not only would I like to meet you, I would like to see you at my school for parent-teacher meetings, father-daughter dances and others events that clearly you need a dad to attend. It’s an awkward feeling when you feel that your real father is your step-dad and the step-dad is the real father.

I’m not writing this letter just for my dad I’m writing this letter to all of the dads that think it’s okay for you not to call or visit your child or children. If you chose not to spend time with us, you can’t get upset your daughter get pregnant at an early age or get in trouble because we are products of you.

At this time, I would like to thank my father, my step-dad Mr. Kincaid, for not only being a great example of what a father and friend should be. I want to thank you for taking me to doctors’ appointments, when needed. I want to thank you for losing sleep and coming to my school for my games, career day and father-daughter doughnut day. You came in my life when I was one and you are ultimately the only dad I know. Thank you for being a dad!

By Lady Zee

Leave a Reply

